Groups of Users

Use the Groups menu item to see the list of all available groups of users, view and manage the appropriate settings through quotas and define the necessary pricing models for them.

Initially four group types are presented within the Groups table (beta, billing, post and trial), where the information on their Names, ResellersSignup default, Collaboration default, and Descriptions is provided.

Refer to the corresponding section in order to examine how to:

Add New User Group

If you want to create a new user group, click the Add button in the upper panel.

The Add Group frame will be opened:

Fill in the fields with the following info:
  • enter the Name for a new group
  • choose the desired group Type (trial, billing, post or beta)
  • select the Source Group within the list of existing groups of the chosen Type. This option defines the welcome email, quotas settings and pricing model for a new group - these values will be copied from the source and can be subsequently edited due to the requirements
  • optionally, specify the Description
  • optionally, select the AD (Active Directory) Domain to be assigned to this group within the list of the available ones (or add a new domain using the appropriate option).

Click the Save button, when ready. A new group will appear at the list in a moment.

After new group creation, a new welcome email with the hivext_welcome_for_{name of the group} name will appear in the Localization > Email Templates > Hivext JCA section. If there is no specific welcome email for the chosen Source Group, the default welcome email of the chosen group Type will be used as a template.

Edit User Group

To change the Name, Description or AD Domain for a particular group - choose it within the list and click the Edit button above.

In the opened window, specify the new desired values within the available fields and click Save.

Note: After changing the group’s Name, the welcome email name in the Localization section will be also automatically changed.

Remove User Group

In order to delete the group of users, choose it from the list, click the Remove button, and confirm your decision.

Note that you can’t delete the group with assigned users, as each user should belong to some group. So before deletion, you need to change the group for these users to another one.

Set Default Groups

There is a number of special-purpose groups in Jelastic, that can be appointed using the Actions drop-down list at the top pane:

Default Group of a Type

Each available group type (which are: beta, billing, post and trial) can include several separate groups.

Herewith, one of them should be obligatory set as the default group for a type. You can specify it by choosing the required group in the list and clicking the Set as default button (circled in the image below).

In such a way, this group will be used by default (i.e. if another specific group was not stated) while changing the user's account type due to conversion or something of the kind.

Default Signup Group

Choose a group from the list and click the Use for signup option within the Actions list to set the type of group which is going to be assigned to a user right after the registration.

Such assigned group will be ticked in the Singup default column.

While placing the registration widget at your site, you can also set the date-group=”group_name” parameter for assigning users right to the needed group.

Note that for this setting, you can only use groups of the type, that is same to the Singup default group’s one.

Collaboration Group

Unregistered users are automatically signed up to Jelastic while confirming the invitation for collaboration via email. By default, they are included to the Signup default group.

Nevertheless, you can create a separate group for such users with special quotas configured if needed. After that, choose it in the list and select the Use for collaboration option.

The chosen group will be ticked within the Collaboration default column.

Tip: The additional information on collaboration and recommended group settings can be seen here.

Manage Resellers’ Users

In case there exist at least one Platform reseller, a special drop-down list will appear at the tools panel above. It allows to switch between the main and all of the assigned sub-platforms’ groups:

Herewith, information on the initial Platform group(s) is provided within the Own groups list, whilst the other options are named after the corresponding reseller’s ID and are marked with the “reseller” label in brackets.

Tip: The list of platform's resellers can be managed through the corresponding same-named section.

Manage Quotas

Select the needed group by clicking on it to see the list of quotas in the right-hand tab. The table of quotas contains their Names, Values and Units.

Doubleclick the quota to edit its Value. Once the required changes are made, save them by selecting the Update button.

The additional information about quotas can be found in the Quotas system document.

Manage Regions & Pricing

Select the needed group by clicking on it and navigate to the Regions & Pricing tab at the panel to the right. Here, you can see a particular pricing model, that is assigned to this group within different regions.

If the default variant is not suitable, click the Edit button at the top pane. Within the edit mode, you can define regions that will be Available for this group and select the Default one among them.

Also, it is possible to change Pricing model for this group at a particular region - for that, just click on the appropriate record to see the list of options (if other ones are available).

Don’t forget to Apply the changes you’ve made.