Groups of Users

Use the Groups menu item to see the list of all available groups of users, view and manage the appropriate settings through quotas and define the necessary pricing models for them.

Initially four group types are presented in the Groups table (trial, billing, post and beta) with information about their Names, Descriptions, Signup default and Collaboration default marks.

Refer to the corresponding section in order to examine how to:

Add New User Group

If you want to add a new user group, click the Add button in the upper panel.

The Add Group frame will be opened:

Fill in the fields with the following info:

  • enter the Name for a new group
  • choose the desired group Type (trial, billing, post or beta)
  • select the Source Group within the list of existing groups of the chosen Type. This option defines the welcome email, quotas settings and pricing model for a new group - these values will be copied from the source and can be subsequently edited due to the requirements
  • optionally, specify the Description
  • optionally, select the AD (Active Directory) Domain to be assigned to this group within the list of the available ones (or add a new domain using the appropriate option).

Click the Save button, when ready. A new group will appear at the list in a moment.

After new group creation, a new welcome email with the hivext_welcome_for_{name of the group} name will appear in the Localization > Email Templates > Hivext JCA section. If there is no specific welcome email for the chosen Source Group, the default welcome email of the chosen group Type will be used as a template.

Edit User Group

To change the Name, Description or AD Domain for a particular group - choose it within the list and click the Edit button above.

In the opened window specify the new desired values in the available fields and click Save.

Note: After changing the group’s Name, the welcome email name in the Localization section will be also changed automatically.

Remove User Group

In order to delete the group of users, choose it from the list, click the Remove button, and confirm your decision.

Note that you can’t delete the group with assigned users, as each user should belong to some group. So before deletion you need to change the group for these users to another one.

Set the Default Group of a Type

Each available group type can include several different groups.

One of them should be obligatory set as the default group for a type. You can specify it by choosing the required group in the list and clicking the Set as default button.

In such a way this group will be used by default after changing the user's account type while conversion or something of the kind (if some specific group is not stated).

Set the Default Signup Group

Choose a group from the list and click the Use for signup button to set the type of group which is going to be assigned to a user right after the registration.

Such assigned group will be ticked in the Singup default column.

While placing the registration widget, you can also set the date-group=”group_name” parameter for assigning users right to the needed group. Note that for this setting you can use only groups of the type, same to the Singup default group’s one.

Set the Collaboration Group

Unregistered users are automatically signed up to Jelastic while confirming the invitation for collaboration via email. By default they are included to the Singup default group.

Nevertheless, you can create a separate group for such users with special quotas configured if needed. After that, choose it in the list and select the Use for collaboration button.

The chosen group will be ticked in the Collaboration default column.

Additional information on collaboration and recommended group settings can be seen here.

Manage Quotas

Select the needed group by clicking on it to see the list of quotas in the right-hand tab. The table of quotas contains their Names, Values and Units.

Doubleclick the quota to edit its Value. Once the required changes are made, save them by selecting the Update button.

The additional information about quotas you can find in the Quotas system document.

Manage Pricing Models

Select the needed group by clicking on it and navigate to the Pricing models tab at the panel to the right. Here you can see the pricing model assigned to this group.

If the default variant is not suitable, choose it and click the Edit button above. Select the desired pricing model (if another one is available) and click Apply.